HomeTren&dThe Ultimate Guide: What Does UPSC Stand For?

The Ultimate Guide: What Does UPSC Stand For?




The UPSC stands for the Union Public Service Commission, which is one of the most prestigious and competitive examination bodies in India. It is the central recruiting agency responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India services and Group A & Group B of Central services. The Commission is also consulted on matters relating to the qualifications, recruitment, promotion, and disciplinary matters concerning government employees.

Understanding the UPSC:

The UPSC was established on October 1, 1926, as a constitutional body under the provisions of Article 315 of the Constitution of India. Its headquarters are located in New Delhi, and it conducts various examinations throughout the year for different positions in the Indian government. These exams are known for their rigorous selection process and attract a large number of applicants from across the country.

Examinations Conducted by UPSC:

The UPSC conducts several prestigious examinations, some of which are:

1. Civil Services Examination (CSE):

The Civil Services Examination is one of the toughest and most sought-after exams in India. It is conducted annually to recruit candidates for prestigious Civil Services such as the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), and Indian Foreign Service (IFS), among others.

2. Combined Defence Services Examination (CDSE):

The CDSE is conducted to recruit candidates for the Indian Military Academy, Indian Naval Academy, Air Force Academy, and Officers' Training Academy. It is held twice a year and includes written examinations followed by an interview.

3. National Defence Academy Examination (NDA):

The NDA exam is conducted for admission to the Indian Army, Indian Navy, and Indian Air Force wings of the National Defence Academy.

4. Indian Forest Service Examination (IFoS):

The IFoS exam is conducted along with the Civil Services Examination for recruitment to the Indian Forest Service.

5. Engineering Services Examination (ESE):

The ESE is conducted to recruit engineers for various government departments such as Indian Railways, Central Engineering Services, Central Water Engineering, and Telecommunication Engineering.

FAQ Section:

1. What is the eligibility criteria for UPSC exams?

Answer: The eligibility criteria vary for different exams conducted by UPSC. However, for the Civil Services Examination, candidates must be a graduate in any discipline from a recognized university.

2. How many attempts are allowed for UPSC exams?

Answer: The number of attempts allowed varies for different categories. General category candidates can attempt the Civil Services Examination six times, while OBC and SC/ST candidates have different attempt limits.

3. Is there an age limit for UPSC exams?

Answer: Yes, the age limit varies for different exams. For the Civil Services Examination, the candidate must be between 21 and 32 years as of August 1 of the examination year.

4. What is the exam pattern for UPSC exams?

Answer: The exam pattern includes preliminary, mains, and interview rounds. The prelims consist of two objective-type papers, while the mains include nine subjective papers.

5. How can I prepare for UPSC exams?

Answer: Preparation for UPSC exams requires a strategic study plan, regular practice, solving previous year papers, and staying updated with current affairs.


The UPSC examinations are considered a gateway to prestigious and challenging careers in the Indian bureaucracy. While the journey to cracking these exams is demanding, the rewards are unparalleled. Aspiring candidates must prepare diligently, stay focused, and remain dedicated to their goal of serving the nation through these esteemed services.

Recent posts

Recent comments